The AAEDIRP Committees and Partners


  • Aboriginal Co-Chair - John Paul, Executive Director, APCFNC
  • University Co-Chair - Dr. Sharon Taylor, Memorial University

Steering Committee

Aboriginal Representatives

  • Chief Terry Paul, Membertou First Nation
  • Chief Darlene Bernard, Lennox Island First Nation
  • Chief Joanna Bernard, Madawaska Maliseet First Nation
  • John Paul, Executive Director, APCFNC
  • Paul Rich, CEO - Innu Development Limited Partnership, Alternate: Fred Hall, Business Manager, Innu Development Limited Partnership
  • Michael Batchelor, Junior Business Manager, Innu Development Limited Partnership
  • Tim McNeil, Deputy Minister, Education and Economic Development, Nunatsiavut Government
  • Tracy Menge, Atlantic Aboriginal Economic Developers Network (AAEDN) Co-Chair, Economic Development Officer, Eskasoni First Nation
  • Elder Christine Gabriel, St. Mary’s First Nation
  • Michael Denny, Male Co-Chair Mi'kmaq Maliseet Atlantic Youth Council (MMAYC), Eskasoni First Nation

Government/Funding Representatives

  • Sarah Hechavarria, Manager, Economic Development & Manson Gloade, Head of Aboriginal Initiatives, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), Atlantic Region
  • Cheryl Keats, Head of Aboriginal Initiatives Development Officer, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA)
  • Kevin Fram, Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), Director, Special Projects, Aboriginal Policy and Governance, Aboriginal Policy and Governance Directorate
  • Ernest Walker, Director of Policy & Gordon Johnson, Policy Analyst, Nova Scotia Office of Aboriginal Affairs

University Partner Representatives

  • Martha Crago, Vice President of Research Services & Patti Doyle-Bedwell, Associate Professor, Director of the Transition Year Program, Director, Dalhousie University
  • Keith Brown, Vice President, External, Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Business Studies, Associate Professor of Marketing, Cape Breton University
  • Greg Kealey, Vice President of Research & Lisa Perley-Dutcher, Director, Aboriginal Nursing Initiative, Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick
  • Laurel Lewey, Department of Social Work, Saint Thomas University
  • Sharon Taylor, Associate Professor, School of Social Work, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Jeff Orr, Dean of Education, First Nations Education Policy, Change Leadership and Instructional Leadership, St. Francis Xavier University

University Partners

  • Dalhousie University
  • St. Thomas University
  • Acadia University
  • University of New Brunswick
  • Saint Mary’s University
  • St. Francis Xavier University
  • Memorial University
  • Université de Moncton
  • Mount Allison University
  • Cape Breton University
  • University of PEI
  • Mount Saint Vincent University

Research Subcommittee

  • Chair, Sharon Taylor, MUN
  • Patti Doyle-Bedwell, Dalhousie University
  • John Paul, Executive Director, APCFNC
  • Lisa Perley-Dutcher, UNB
  • Chief Darlene Bernard, Lennox Island First Nation
  • Jeff Orr, St. FX
  • Bob Atwin, First Nation Education Initiatives Inc.


  • Gillian Austin, Research Coordinator
  • Heather Mulligan, Assistant Research Coordinator
  • Angie Zinn, Oromocto First Nation, Administrative Assistant